Joe Douglass & Spirit of Praise Announce Sophomore Recording

Joe Douglass & SOP Live Recording FlyerOn the heels of their successful debut release, Oakland, CA based aggregation Joe Douglass & Spirit of Praise are preparing for their next recording. The live session, titled Journey To Glory, will take place at the Shiloh Church in Oakland on April 28.

The choir’s 2015 debut release titled The Great I Am peaked at #4 on Billboard’s Top Gospel Albums Chart, producing singles such as the title track and “Redemption”. The fourteen-track release featured appearances from Tye Tribbett, Chrystal Rucker, Jojo Martin, Vonnie Lopez, and Lena Byrd-Miles.

The Journey to Glory session promises to progressively continue the sound that caught the attention of listeners and industry professionals alike.

“I knew the next move for this record and the message God wanted me to convey was to get in position,” shares singer, songwriter and group leader Joe Douglass. “Some of us have left the Ark of the Covenant; strayed away, forsaken the Grace God gives us to wake up every day. In the Bible, you’ll study that on top of the Ark was a lid called the mercy seat which showed a visible symbol of God’s divine presence. My prayer is that this music shifts the hearts and minds of the every Sunday morning worshiper; creating atmospheres that are conducive to the actualization of God’s presence.”

Joe Douglass & SOP_7572 HR-X3This new release will feature Michael Bereal in the role of producer. The Los Angeles native has worked with an impressive lineup of artists including Marvin Sapp, Mary Mary, Smokie Norful, Kurt Carr, and Beverly Crawford.

“I’m excited to join Joe’s vision and this awesome team to make great music for the kingdom,” shares Bereal.  “He’s a young energetic worshiper with an old soul that appreciates the sound of Gospel music.”

Douglass is expanding the writing pool for this sophomore effort . He’s enlisted an impressive list of songwriters Journey To Glory including the legendary Edwin HawkinsWalter “Jamie” Hawkins, Sunny Hawkins, Todd Galberth, Deon Kipping, Edwin Hawkins, Shawn Bigby, Nona Brown, David Jackson, and Michael Bereal.

The live recording session will feature guest appearances from Edwin Hawkins, KJ Scriven, Y’Anna Crawley, Lisa Page Brooks, Lena Byrd-Miles, and David Toledo.

Tickets for the Journey To Glory live recording are available now at

This entry was posted in News, Press and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.